What information is needed to get an insurance quote?
Alice Yao | Updated August 16th, 2020
Average time to process a quote may take anywhere between 15 to 30 minutes. In most situations, your insurance agent will be able to go over details of your coverages and different options available within an hour of the initial phone call.
In order to get an accurate auto and home insurance quote, your insurance agent will request for the following information:
- Your full legal name. If applicable, your spouse’s full legal name.
- Your date of birth. If applicable, your spouse’s dates of birth.
- Your current home address. Previous home address is required if you have only resided in the current address for less than 2 years.
- Driver license. Some companies may require your driver license numbers.
Like many states, Washington State requires you to include your spouse’s information if you are married and live with your spouse. However, if you and your spouse reside in separate addresses, this information can be indicated on the quote application to reflect the risk exposure.
Car insurance quote
- Other drivers in your household. If there are other eligible drivers in your household, their names and birthdates are also required.
- Year, make, and model of all the cars you own. You may also provide vehicle identification number (VIN) of the cars.
- Estimated annual miles driven in each of your cars.
- Driving history of all the drivers, including moving violations and accidents, within the last three years (for WA state).
- Current auto insurance carrier and length of time continuously insured with them
Above factors are all essential for insurance companies to provide an accurate quote. If there have been incidents including claims or moving violations within the last three years, you will likely see a surcharge included in your auto insurance quote.
Home insurance quote
- Year the home was built.
- Approximate square footage.
- Approximate age of your roof.
- Number of home insurance claims in the past three years.
State specific guidelines
It is important to be aware of your state's insurance regulations and guidelines such as the minimum auto insurance coverage limit requirement.
In Washington State, the minimum auto liability limits required by law are:
- Bodily injury liability limit per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury liability limit per accident: $50,000
- Property damage liability limit per accident: $10,000
In addition, there are two specific coverages that a licensed insurance professional is required to offer to customers: uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages. Customers can choose to opt-out of these two coverages by signing the required waiver form.
Keep in mind that every insurance company has its own protocols around quote inquiries and presentations. Be sure to ask your insurance agent for a comprehensive review of your coverages to ensure you are properly and adequately covered.
By Alice Yao |